St. Gregory is a vibrant and engaging parish with Masses in English and Spanish as well as over 50 ministries for all age groups.
Established in 1959 under the leadership of Father Michael Keller, St. Gregory the Great Parish celebrated its first Mass on August 15th in Peters Elementary School. A year later, three Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth opened a parish school with 143 students and three portable classrooms, donated by Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish. The parish dedicated a church in 1961 and later constructed a convent.
Although fire partially destroyed the church in 1979, parishioners rallied to build a new church, completed in 1982, and restore the fire damaged structure, converting it into the Parish Center.
In 1988, the United States Department of Education recognized St. Gregory’s “Exemplary School.” The present state-of-the-art building opened for pre-kindergarten through eighth grade students in 1995, was expanded in 2000, and continues to be enhanced with technology and facilities. St. Gregory School is open to PK2-8th grade students and maintains accreditation with the Florida Catholic Conference.
In 1992, Msgr. Noel Fogarty launched a series of campaigns that were completed to improve facilities such as: School/Facilities expansion (1995), Prayer Garden (2004) and Church Renovation (2010).
1996 - nowadays
In 1996, an Endowment Fund was established to ensure the fundamental stability of St. Gregory School.